top of page
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Gorsek

New Year's Eve, Starting Now


I enjoy New Year's Eve. I love partaking in it so much that I've declared it my favorite holiday. But I understand why people don't enjoy it. There seems to be so much planning, so many expensive events in your area with pricey or risky transportation options, and it doesn't seem worth it for a holiday that celebrates our man made illusion of time. Midnight means nothing. We just all agreed that it meant something. There are expectations to partake in a blowout party because, Midnight of the first month signifies new, untainted potential even though making significant life decisions can happen whenever you want.


I find that hope shines brightest on New Year's Eve. Through booze or camaraderie or genuine excitement for the ball drop, or dressing up in that one piece of apparel you don for this holiday only, hope is there. Some choose not to see it; some can't see it. Some feel indifferent toward seeing it. People want to invest their energy in other happenings. I get it.


To all the naysayers of the New Year: isn't it fascinating? How the world agreed to mark the 31st on their Gregorian calendars as the last of the year and January 1st as the new year?


Well, not the entire world. When does the new year start on the Igbo calendar?


But that's just it, isn't it? New Year's Eve can start and end whenever you want.


I'm well aware December 31st/January 1st passed weeks ago, and what you maybe see as a poor excuse for not getting my thoughts on NYE out at a timely manner I see as an opportunity to remind you all our concept of time is only an illusion. I'm saying let me have this because you too don't have to feel the pressure to ~start anew~ on January 1st. I also don't have the patience to wait a whole year to write this. I'll probably call this "New Year's Eve, Starting Now."


So just.... start making changes for the betterment of your life whenever. You can do it even before NYE. To me that holiday serves as a hopeful reminder that resolutions have no sell-by date. You can pick one up whenever and they're still fresh as hell cause, who cares? It's your life. The clock goes from 11:59:59 to 12:00:00 and nothing will still matter unless you want it to.


I figure I should stop before all of my nihilism bleeds out, so I leave my conclusion to the post below, which succinctly sums up my thoughts on the New Year's holiday. Happy 2019, whenever that is for you.


Will somebody tell me who said this? I want to give credit and also a high five to the original user.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page