top of page
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Gorsek

Gotta Start Somewhere

Updated: Dec 21, 2018

Here is a blog post, my first blog post. Well, unless you include Tumblr. But enough about that.


An intro: My name is Stephanie Gorsek, although I go by handfuls of nicknames (Steph, Steffi, Stoof, Teppi, Irene, Sylvia at one point?) which only increased in college because my roommate of the same name preferred the full spelling. Born and bred in Cleveland, I grew up with twin siblings, two loving parents, and at least two cats, really a Noah's ark situation in my household.


I attended Catholic school up until college where I enrolled at Denison University in Granville, Ohio and graduated with a B.A. in communication (Denison is VERY adamant on leaving out the 's' in communications) and a minor in English creative writing. I remember my high school guidance counselor telling me about how some students sense an instant click to a college when they visit, and I was lucky enough to feel instantly at home on my first Denison campus tour. College has proven to be the most transformative and most expensive experience of my life, so I feel lucky and reassured with what I've been given.

Senior graduation picture from May 2018
Aw, they grow up so fast. (Thank you to Jed Dioguardi for the amazing photo!)

Ironically and perhaps idiotically, I never joined the university's newspaper, and I couldn't get the 'in' with the university's satirical newsletter, The Bullsheet (half of the reason I applied was for the name alone). Instead, I turned to writing online content, starting with the Odyssey, a media website full of collegiate writers, during my time at Denison for two and half years where I became Editor-in-Chief. Currently, my full time job comes out at night, working third shift at a newswire company, but I look for freelance work constantly, hoping to grow an online portfolio that I can be proud of one day.


Okay. Now that I got my bare bones backstory out of the way, I can talk about the purpose of this blog, which will serve as a creative and personal outlet for me to express my opinions, show people something they haven't seen or listen to something they've never heard, and maybe make people laugh. I love making people laugh. The only things stopping me from pursuing comedy are money and crippling stage fright. For now I'll stick to writing, whether it's in list form, a thinkpiece, or one bad metaphor away from a diary entry.


I'm sure this blog will go through a lot of changes like a puberty stricken kid, and it'll probably be messy. Cut me some slack, at least for a few months. I have no regularly scheduled deadlines for myself at the moment, but if people actually end up subscribing (yes, I added a subscribe button. I just want a taste of that sweet, gooey YouTuber fame), maybe I'll hold myself a little more accountable for the reader's sake.


So stick around! If you follow me long enough, you'll figure out what I blog, and hopefully I will too.





25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page